Last reviewed: September 29, 2026. Card terms change often. Always check the issuer's own page and pricing terms before you apply.
Short answer: A secured credit card is a real credit card that asks you for a refundable cash deposit before you can use it. The deposit protects the issuer if you do not pay. In most cases your credit limit is close to the size of your deposit. You use the card, get a monthly bill, and pay it. If the issuer reports your account to the credit bureaus, those on-time payments start to build a credit history. After several months of good use, many issuers review the account and may return your deposit and move you to a regular (unsecured) card. The best approach is simple: pick a card with no annual fee that reports to all three US bureaus, keep your balance small, and pay the full statement balance on time every month.
In the UK, most cards sold as "credit builder" cards are unsecured. They have low limits and high interest rates, but they do not ask for a deposit.
If you have no credit history, or your history was damaged, it can feel like a closed loop. You need credit to get credit. A secured credit card is one of the most common ways out of that loop. It is also one of the easiest products to misuse, because some cards are built to collect fees rather than to help you.
This guide explains how secured cards work, what the deposit really does, which cards the big US issuers offer today, how UK "credit builder" cards differ, and how to turn a small card into a solid credit file within about a year. Every card figure below comes from the issuer's own website, checked on September 29, 2026. Where we could not confirm a number, we say so.
This article is general information, not personalized financial advice.
In this guide
- What a secured credit card is
- How the security deposit works
- US secured cards compared (2026)
- UK credit builder cards
- Canada and Australia notes
- How secured cards build credit
- A step-by-step 12-month plan
- Graduation and getting your deposit back
- Fees and traps to avoid
- Secured card vs credit builder loan vs authorized user vs prepaid
- A worked example with numbers
- When a secured card does not make sense
- FAQ
- Bottom line
- Sources
What a secured credit card is
A secured credit card is a credit card backed by money you put down in advance. The US Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) describes it in plain terms: you put in an amount of cash, for example $500, and then you can spend up to that amount on the card. When you pay the bill, your available spending goes back up.
That sounds a lot like a debit card or a prepaid card. It is not. The key difference is what happens behind the scenes.
- With a debit card, you spend your own money straight from your bank account. No one lends you anything.
- With a prepaid card, you load money first and spend it down. Again, no loan.
- With a secured credit card, the issuer lends you money each time you swipe. You then owe that money and must repay it by the due date. The deposit sits to the side as collateral. It is not used to pay your bill unless you default or close the account with a balance.
Because a secured card is a genuine credit account, the issuer can report it to the credit bureaus just like any other credit card. That reporting is the whole point. Your deposit gets you in the door. Your payment record builds the history.
Who secured cards are for
Secured cards are usually aimed at three groups of people:
- People with no credit history. Students, young adults, and people who have always paid cash often have what the CFPB calls a "thin" file or no file at all. Lenders cannot judge them, so they get declined.
- People rebuilding after problems. Late payments, defaults, collections, or bankruptcy can make it hard to get approved for a normal card.
- Newcomers to a country. Credit history usually does not travel across borders. Someone with a strong record in one country can arrive in the US, UK, or Canada with no local file.
The CFPB notes that secured cards are available to people with lower credit scores because they carry lower risk for the issuer. The trade-off is that you need the cash for the deposit up front.
Secured card legal protections
A secured card has the same legal protections as any other credit card in the US. The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) points out that if someone uses your card without permission before you report it lost or stolen, the most you can be responsible for is $50. You can also dispute billing errors. If you ever need to do that, our guide on how to dispute a credit card charge in the US and UK walks through the steps.
How the security deposit works
The deposit is the part people misunderstand most often. Here is how it usually works, step by step.
1. You apply and get approved
You apply like any other card. Some issuers check your credit. Some do not. If you are approved, the issuer tells you how much deposit it needs.
2. You fund the deposit
You send the deposit from a bank account, usually within a set window. For example, Capital One says you must make your full required deposit within 35 days of approval. Capital One and Discover also say that deposits must be at least $20 and in whole-dollar amounts if you add more.
3. The issuer sets your credit limit
With most secured cards, your limit equals your deposit. Put down $300, get a $300 limit. Some issuers are more generous. Discover says a deposit as low as $49 can unlock a credit line of at least $200, depending on creditworthiness. Capital One's Platinum Secured card asks for a minimum deposit of $49, $99, or $200, also based on creditworthiness. In Canada, the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) says institutions normally set the limit at an amount equal to or higher than your deposit.
4. The deposit is held, not spent
Your deposit sits in a holding account. At some banks, such as U.S. Bank, it sits in a secured savings account that the bank says is FDIC-insured and earns interest. At most issuers, it simply sits as collateral. Either way, you cannot spend it while the card is open.
5. You use the card and pay the bill
You make purchases. At the end of each cycle you get a statement. You pay at least the minimum by the due date, and ideally the full statement balance. The deposit does not pay your bill. If you only pay part of the balance, you pay interest on the rest, just like a regular card.
6. You get the deposit back
You get your deposit back in one of two ways:
- Graduation. The issuer reviews your account and moves you to an unsecured card, then returns the deposit. We cover this in detail below.
- Closing the account. If you pay the balance in full and close the card, you get the deposit back. FCAC says you will get your security deposit back when you close your account. If you close with a balance owing, the issuer can use the deposit to cover it.
What happens if you stop paying
If you miss payments, you face the same late fees and credit damage as with any card. The deposit does not protect your credit score. Late payments can still be reported to the bureaus. If the account goes into default, the issuer can take the deposit to cover what you owe. FCAC puts it plainly: if you do not make your payments, the financial institution may use your deposit to pay the money you owe.
So think of the deposit as protection for the lender, not for you.
US secured cards compared (2026)
The table below lists secured cards from major US issuers. We took each figure from the issuer's own product page on September 29, 2026. APRs are variable and can change. Where an issuer's product page did not show a figure, we say "not shown" rather than guess. Always read the full pricing and terms before you apply.
| Card | Minimum deposit | Annual fee | Purchase APR | Upgrade or graduation | Reports to 3 bureaus? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Discover it Secured Credit Card | As low as $49 for a line of at least $200 (based on creditworthiness); you can deposit more to raise the line | $0 | Not shown on product page | Deposit returned and account upgraded to Discover it Cash Back when you build a positive track record | Yes, per issuer |
| Capital One Platinum Secured | $49, $99 or $200 (based on creditworthiness); can deposit more up to $1,000 total | $0 | 28.99% variable | Could earn deposit back and upgrade to unsecured Platinum; considered for a higher line in as little as 6 months | Yes, per issuer |
| Capital One Quicksilver Secured | $200; initial line of at least $200 | $0 | 28.99% variable | Could earn deposit back and upgrade to unsecured Quicksilver (no timeline stated on page) | Yes, per issuer |
| Citi Secured Mastercard | $200 to $2,500, in $100 steps | $0 | Not shown on product page | Reviewed for early graduation from 9 months, then every 12 months; may upgrade to Citi Diamond Preferred | Citi says it reports to major credit bureaus monthly |
| BankAmericard Secured (Bank of America) | $200 minimum, $5,000 maximum | $0 | 25.99% variable | Periodic reviews; you may qualify to get the deposit back; not all customers qualify | Not stated on product page |
| U.S. Bank Secured Visa and Cash+ Secured Visa | $300 to $5,000 | $0 | Not shown on product page | Cash+ Secured may automatically graduate to Cash+ Visa Signature, with deposit returned | Yes, per issuer |
| Chime Card (secured Chime Visa credit card) | No minimum deposit; you move money to the card and that sets what you can spend | $0 | No interest, per Chime | Not a graduation model; requires a Chime Checking account | Yes; Chime says utilization is not reported |
| OpenSky Secured Visa and OpenSky Plus Secured Visa | Could not verify (issuer site blocked our check) | OpenSky's site states $35 for Secured Visa and $0 for Plus | Could not verify | OpenSky's site says it reviews accounts after 6 months for a possible upgrade to its Gold Unsecured card | Could not verify directly |
Sources: issuer product pages listed at the end of this article. "Not shown" means the figure was not displayed on the product page we checked. It does not mean there is no APR. Every card that charges interest must disclose its APR in its pricing terms.
Notes on the cards in the table
Discover it Secured. Discover's secured card now shows a Capital One notice on its product page, following Capital One's acquisition of Discover. The page lists no annual fee, 5% cash back at different types of merchants each quarter (check the category terms and limits), 1% on other purchases, and a first-year match of the cash back you earn. Discover says a deposit as low as $49 can unlock a credit line of at least $200, and that you may earn credit line increases later without an extra deposit. When you graduate, Discover says your deposit is returned and the account becomes unsecured, with other card terms unchanged. Discover has long described monthly automated reviews starting around the seventh month, but we could not confirm that timeline on the current product page, so treat it as unconfirmed.
Capital One Platinum Secured. This is a simple card with no rewards and no annual fee. Its main feature is the low deposit for some applicants: $49, $99, or $200. You can raise the starting line by depositing more, up to $1,000. Capital One says you could be considered for a higher credit line in as little as six months with on-time payments. It also lists no foreign transaction fees.
Capital One Quicksilver Secured. This card earns 1.5% cash back on every purchase. It needs a $200 minimum deposit and opens with a line of at least $200. The APR is the same 28.99% variable as the Platinum Secured. Capital One says responsible use could lead to your deposit being returned and an upgrade to the unsecured Quicksilver card.
Citi Secured Mastercard. Citi is unusually clear about graduation. It says customers are reviewed for early graduation starting at 9 months and then reviewed every 12 months. The deposit range is $200 to $2,500 in $100 steps. The card has no annual fee and no rewards.
BankAmericard Secured. Bank of America asks for at least $200 and allows up to $5,000. The purchase APR on its product page was 25.99% variable, which is lower than several other secured cards we checked. The bank says it periodically reviews accounts and that you may qualify to have your deposit returned, but not everyone will.
U.S. Bank secured cards. U.S. Bank offers a plain Secured Visa and a Cash+ Secured Visa with cash back categories you choose. Both ask for $300 to $5,000. The deposit sits in a secured savings account that earns interest. U.S. Bank says Cash+ Secured holders may automatically graduate to the Cash+ Visa Signature card, with the deposit returned. It also says it reports card status to the three major bureaus.
Chime Card. Chime's product works differently. You must open a Chime Checking account. There is no minimum deposit, no annual fee, and Chime says there is no interest. You move money onto the card, and that amount is what you can spend. Chime says it reports your payments to TransUnion, Experian, and Equifax, but it also says utilization is not reported. That design removes one scoring factor, for better or worse. The card is issued by The Bancorp Bank, N.A. or Stride Bank, N.A., according to Chime's disclosures.
OpenSky. OpenSky is known for not running a credit check at application. Its website states a $35 annual fee for the OpenSky Secured Visa and no annual fee for the OpenSky Plus Secured Visa. It also says it reviews accounts after six months for a possible upgrade. We could not load OpenSky's product pages or disclosure PDFs directly during our review, so check deposits, APR, and fees on the issuer's site before applying.
How to choose among them
You do not need the "best" secured card. You need one that fits these tests:
- No annual fee. Most major-bank secured cards now charge $0. There is little reason to pay one.
- Reports to all three US bureaus. Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion each keep separate files. A lender might check any one of them.
- A clear path to graduation. Look for an issuer that reviews accounts and returns the deposit, and says so in writing.
- A deposit you can afford to lock away. Do not use rent money or your emergency fund.
- A bank you might want long term. If the card graduates, it may become your oldest account. Picking an issuer you like helps.
Rewards are a small bonus, not a reason to choose. On a $300 limit, 1.5% cash back is worth a few dollars a year. If you want the bigger picture on picking a card, see our guide on how to choose the right credit card for you.
UK credit builder cards
If you search for "credit builder card UK", you will mostly find unsecured cards. This is the biggest difference between the UK and US markets. UK lenders rarely ask for a cash deposit. Instead, they offer low credit limits and high interest rates to people with thin or damaged credit files.
MoneyHelper, the UK government-backed guidance service, describes credit builder cards as cards for people with low credit scores or little or no credit history. It says they often have higher interest rates and lower credit limits. It also warns people to stay away from products advertised as "credit-building" that charge high interest rates or fees.
Experian UK says a credit builder card could help rebuild your credit score if you use it well, and notes these cards usually have low spending limits and high interest rates.
Examples of UK credit builder cards
The figures below come from each issuer's own website on September 29, 2026. "Representative APR" is the rate at least 51% of accepted applicants get under UK advertising rules. You might be offered a different rate after you apply.
| Card | Representative APR (variable) | Starting credit limit | Deposit needed? | Eligibility check |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aqua (credit card) | 39.9% | £250 to £1,500 | No (unsecured) | Aqua says its eligibility check will not affect your credit score |
| Capital One UK Classic | 34.9% | £200 to £4,000 | No (unsecured) | QuickCheck soft search that other lenders cannot see |
| Vanquis Credit Builder | 37.9% | £250 to £2,500 | No (unsecured) | Eligibility check with no impact on your score, per Vanquis |
Capital One UK says the APR you are offered after checking eligibility is the one you will get. It also lists up to 56 days interest-free on new purchases if you pay in full each month, and up to two credit limit increases a year. Capital One UK notes that Section 75 protection applies to purchases between £100 and £30,000. That protection comes from the Consumer Credit Act and applies to credit cards generally, not only to credit builder cards.
Other UK providers, such as Tymit, offer credit-building products with different structures, including fixed monthly fees. We could not confirm current Tymit pricing from its own pages during our review, so we have not listed figures for it.
Why UK rates look so high
A 34.9% to 39.9% APR means borrowing is expensive. On a £500 balance at around 35% APR, you would pay very roughly £12 to £14 a month in interest if you carried the whole balance. That is our own rough arithmetic, not an issuer figure. The fix is simple: never carry a balance on a credit builder card. Use it for one or two small purchases a month and pay the full statement balance by direct debit.
UK persistent debt rules
The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) introduced persistent debt rules for credit cards in 2018. If, over 18 months, you pay more in interest, fees, and charges than you repay of the balance, your card provider must contact you and prompt you to pay more. After 36 months in persistent debt, the provider must offer a way to repay in a reasonable period, and if you cannot, it must show forbearance, which can include reducing, waiving, or cancelling interest and charges. These rules are a safety net, not a plan. If you pay in full each month, they will never apply to you.
Other UK credit-building basics
- Register on the electoral roll at your current address. Experian UK recommends this and says you can do it even in shared housing or when living with parents.
- Keep utilisation low. Experian UK suggests keeping credit utilisation below 30% if possible.
- Pay on time. Experian UK notes that missed payments, defaults, and county court judgments can stay on your credit report for six years.
- Use soft-search eligibility checkers before applying, so a string of declined applications does not pile up on your file.
Canada and Australia notes
Canada
Secured credit cards are a normal product in Canada. The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) says a secured card may be an option if you have no credit history or bad credit. Its key points:
- You must give a security deposit to the institution that issues the card.
- Institutions normally set your credit limit at an amount equal to or higher than your deposit.
- You may have to pay a one-time application or set-up fee. FCAC warns this is not part of the deposit and you may not get it back if your application is declined.
- The card may have an annual fee.
- You get your deposit back when you close the account.
- If you do not make your payments, the institution may use your deposit.
FCAC also suggests checking your credit report with Canada's two main credit bureaus, Equifax and TransUnion, before you apply. When you compare Canadian secured cards, ask each issuer whether it reports the account to both bureaus and whether there is a set-up fee. A non-refundable set-up fee is a cost you should count.
Australia
Secured credit cards are not a mainstream product at Australia's major banks, based on our review. The usual path for someone new to credit is a low-limit, low-fee card, or simply managing a phone plan, utility account, or small loan well. We could not confirm a mainstream Australian secured card issuer, so we have not listed any.
ASIC's Moneysmart gives the core rules for building a good record:
- Pay on or before the due date, and set up reminders or direct debits.
- Keep your credit card balance low so you are not using most of your limit.
- Limit new credit applications, because several in a short period can hurt your score.
- Check your credit report each year and fix any errors. Moneysmart says you have the right to have errors fixed for free.
Moneysmart says Australia now has two main credit reporting bodies, Experian and Equifax, and that they can hold different information about you.
How secured cards build credit
A secured card only builds credit if two things happen. First, the issuer reports your account to the credit bureaus. Second, what it reports is good news. Here is what matters.
Payment history is the biggest factor
FICO, the company behind the most widely used US credit scores, publishes the rough weight of each part of its score:
| FICO score category | Approximate weight | What a secured card does for it |
|---|---|---|
| Payment history | 35% | Every on-time monthly payment adds a positive record |
| Amounts owed | 30% | A low reported balance compared with your limit helps |
| Length of credit history | 15% | The account ages from the day it opens |
| New credit | 10% | One application is a small, short-term factor |
| Credit mix | 10% | Adds a revolving account to your file |
myFICO notes that the importance of each category can vary from person to person. For someone with a new file, there is little data in most categories, so each payment carries weight. For a deeper look at how scores are built, read our explainer on what a credit score is and how it is calculated.
Utilization: why your balance matters even if you pay in full
Utilization is the share of your credit limit you are using. If your limit is $300 and your statement shows $150, your utilization is 50%.
Here is a detail many people miss. Card issuers usually report the balance shown on your statement, not the balance after you pay. So even if you pay in full every month, a high statement balance can show up as high utilization. On a small secured limit, one grocery run can push you over 50%.
The CFPB warns that because secured card limits tend to be low, you should watch your utilization and avoid getting close to the full limit. Experian UK suggests keeping it under 30% where possible. A simple way to stay low is to pay down the balance before the statement closes, or to use the card for just one small, regular bill.
Note that Chime says it does not report utilization for its Chime Card. That means a high balance will not hurt you on that card, but low use will not help this factor either.
How long before you have a score
myFICO lists minimum criteria for producing a FICO Score. The credit report must have at least one account opened for six months or more, at least one account reported to the bureau in the past six months, and no indication that the person is deceased. A single account can meet all of these.
In practice, that means someone opening their first secured card may not have a FICO Score until around six months in. This is why patience matters. Applying for more cards in the meantime usually does more harm than good.
What a "good" score looks like
Experian lists the FICO score ranges as follows: 300 to 579 is poor, 580 to 669 is fair, 670 to 739 is good, 740 to 799 is very good, and 800 to 850 is exceptional. A first secured card will not take you to the top of that range on its own. Its job is to create a clean, reliable record you can build on.
What does not build credit
The CFPB lists several types of payments that are generally not reported to the nationwide credit reporting companies, even when paid on time. These include debit cards, prepaid cards, payday loans, and "buy here, pay here" car loans. The FTC says most prepaid cards are not reported to credit bureaus, so they do not help you build a credit history.
Buy now, pay later (BNPL) plans are a mixed picture, and reporting practices vary by provider. Do not rely on BNPL to build a credit file.
A step-by-step 12-month plan
This plan assumes you are starting in the US with no credit history, or with a damaged one. Adjust it for your country. The ideas are the same everywhere.
Before you apply (month 0)
- Check your credit reports. The FTC says all three US bureaus have permanently extended free weekly credit reports at AnnualCreditReport.com. Look for errors or accounts you do not recognize. If you have no file, that is useful to know too.
- Decide your deposit. Pick an amount you can lock away without stress. For most people, $200 to $500 is enough. A larger limit makes it easier to keep utilization low, but it is not required.
- Choose one card. Use the tests above: no annual fee, reports to all three bureaus, clear graduation policy.
- Read the pricing terms. Look for the APR, late fee, and any fees that apply before or after opening.
- Apply for only one card. Multiple applications at once add hard inquiries and can look like risk.
Month 1: set it up right
- Fund the deposit within the issuer's deadline.
- Activate the card and set up online access.
- Turn on autopay for the full statement balance. If the issuer only allows autopay for the minimum, set that up as a safety net and pay the rest manually.
- Set a balance alert at around 20% to 30% of your limit.
- Pick one small, regular charge to put on the card, such as a phone bill or a streaming subscription.
Months 2 to 3: build the habit
- Let the statement close with a small balance.
- Pay the full statement balance by the due date.
- Check that the payment posted.
- Do not add more cards or loans yet.
Months 4 to 6: watch your reports
- Pull your free reports again. Check that the new account appears with each bureau the issuer says it reports to.
- Confirm the account shows as "current" or "paid as agreed."
- If the account is missing from a bureau, contact the issuer.
- Around month six, you may start to see a FICO Score, based on myFICO's minimum criteria.
Months 7 to 9: first reviews
- Some issuers start reviewing accounts around this time. Citi, for example, says it reviews for early graduation starting at 9 months. Capital One says you could be considered for a higher line in as little as six months.
- Keep the same routine. One missed payment now can undo months of progress.
- If you are offered a credit line increase with no extra deposit, it can help your utilization. You do not have to spend more.
Months 10 to 12: plan the next step
- If you have graduated, keep the card open. It is now building length of history.
- If you have not graduated, ask the issuer what it looks for. Some issuers do not graduate secured cards at all.
- Consider whether you need a second account. Many people do not. If you do, use soft-search pre-qualification tools first.
- Keep paying on time. The plan does not end at month 12. It becomes your normal routine.
A simple checklist to keep
- One card, one small regular bill.
- Autopay on.
- Statement balance under about 30% of the limit, lower if easy.
- Full balance paid every month.
- Reports checked every few months.
- No new applications unless you have a clear reason.
Graduation and getting your deposit back
"Graduation" means the issuer converts your secured card into an unsecured card, or moves you to a new unsecured product, and returns your deposit. It is the goal for most secured cardholders.
How issuers decide
Each issuer uses its own rules, and most do not publish every detail. What issuers do say publicly:
- Citi: reviews for early graduation from 9 months, then every 12 months. The upgrade path is the Citi Diamond Preferred card.
- Capital One: says responsible card use could let you earn back your deposit and upgrade to an unsecured card. It says you could be considered for a higher line in as little as six months.
- Discover: says when you establish a positive track record, you earn your deposit back and upgrade to the Discover it Cash Back card, with other terms unchanged.
- Bank of America: reviews periodically based on your overall credit history and relationship with the bank. It states that not all customers will qualify.
- U.S. Bank: says Cash+ Secured cardholders may automatically graduate to the Cash+ Visa Signature card, with the deposit returned.
Issuers often look at your whole credit file, not just their own card. A late payment on a phone bill that goes to collections, or a missed payment on another loan, can delay graduation even if the secured card is perfect.
What graduation looks like
Usually, you keep the same account number history. The account stays open and keeps its age, which is good for your length of history. The deposit is returned, often as a credit to the card or a transfer to your bank. Ask the issuer how it will be returned. If it comes as a statement credit and you have no balance, you may need to request a refund of the credit balance.
If your issuer does not graduate you
Some secured cards never graduate. If you have had a clean record for 12 months or more and your issuer offers no path forward, you have options:
- Call and ask for a review. Sometimes a request is all it takes.
- Apply for an unsecured card elsewhere, ideally after using a pre-qualification tool.
- Once you are approved elsewhere, decide whether to close the secured card. Closing returns your deposit but removes that credit line, which can raise your utilization. If the secured card has no annual fee, keeping it open may be worth it.
Closing a secured card the right way
- Stop using the card and let any pending charges post.
- Pay the balance to zero.
- Call the issuer to close the account and confirm how and when the deposit will be returned.
- Cancel any recurring charges or move them to another card.
- Check your next report to confirm the account shows as closed with a zero balance.
Fees and traps to avoid
Secured cards are supposed to be low-risk. Most major-bank secured cards now have no annual fee. But the category has a history of expensive products, and some still exist.
Fee-harvester cards
A "fee harvester" card is a subprime card that eats up much of its own credit limit with fees. Before the US CARD Act, some cards charged so many upfront fees that a $300 limit could be mostly used up before the cardholder bought anything.
US federal rules now limit this. Under Regulation Z, section 1026.52(a), the total fees you are required to pay in the first year after an account opens must not exceed 25% of the credit limit in effect when the account is opened. On a $300 limit, that cap is $75. Some fees are excluded from the cap, including late fees, over-the-limit fees, returned-payment fees, and optional fees you are not required to pay.
There is a gap to be aware of. The CFPB has noted that application fees or other fees charged before an account is opened do not count toward the fee-harvester limits, and said it would continue to monitor them. In 2024 the CFPB sued Reliant Holdings (Horizon Card Services), alleging that it charged fees well above the legal limits, with mandatory fees of up to 60% of some consumers' credit limits. That case was an allegation in a lawsuit, but it shows why you should read every fee line.
Warning signs in the fine print
- An application, processing, or "program" fee you pay before approval.
- A monthly maintenance fee on top of an annual fee.
- An annual fee that is a large share of the credit limit.
- Fees for credit limit increases.
- No clear statement about which credit bureaus receive reports.
- No path to getting the deposit back other than closing the account.
In Canada, FCAC specifically warns about one-time application or set-up fees that you may not get back if you are declined.
High APRs
Secured cards often carry high interest rates. The two US purchase APRs we could confirm on product pages were 28.99% variable (Capital One Platinum Secured and Quicksilver Secured) and 25.99% variable (BankAmericard Secured). UK credit builder cards we checked showed representative APRs from 34.9% to 39.9% variable.
These rates only matter if you carry a balance. If you pay the full statement balance by the due date each month, most cards charge no interest on purchases. If you carry a balance, the interest can quickly outweigh any benefit. Our article on why credit cards can become a financial trap covers how that spiral starts.
Other common mistakes
- Maxing out the card. Even if you pay in full, a high statement balance can be reported as high utilization.
- Letting the card sit unused. Some issuers close inactive accounts. A small monthly charge keeps it active.
- Paying late "because the deposit covers it." It does not. Late payments get reported.
- Cash advances. These usually carry fees and interest from day one.
- Applying for many cards at once. Each hard inquiry is a small negative, and several together look risky.
- Paying for "credit repair." Nobody can legally remove accurate negative information from your report. You can dispute errors yourself for free.
Scams also target people with poor credit, often with "guaranteed approval" offers that ask for fees upfront. A real issuer does not need an upfront "approval fee" wired to it, and it will show its full pricing terms before you pay anything.
Secured card vs credit builder loan vs authorized user vs prepaid
A secured card is not the only way to start a credit file. Here is how the main options compare.
| Option | How it works | Builds credit? | Main cost or risk | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured credit card | You put down a deposit and get a credit line, often equal to the deposit | Yes, if the issuer reports to the bureaus | Deposit is locked up; high APR if you carry a balance | Most people starting or rebuilding who can spare a few hundred dollars |
| Credit builder loan | Lender holds the loan amount in savings while you make fixed payments; you get the money at the end | Yes, if reported | Interest and fees; a missed payment is reported | People who want forced savings and an installment account |
| Authorized user | Someone adds you to their credit card account | Often yes; accounts with authorized users are generally reported for both people | Their late payments or high balances can affect you | People with a trusted family member who has a clean record |
| Prepaid card | You load money and spend it | Generally no; most prepaid cards are not reported | Card fees vary | Budgeting, not credit building |
| Debit card | You spend from your bank account | No | Overdraft fees at some banks | Everyday spending, not credit building |
Credit builder loans
The CFPB describes a credit builder loan as a way to build credit and savings at the same time through a bank or credit union. The loan amount is held in an account while you make payments, typically over 6 to 24 months. When you finish, you get the money. It adds an installment loan to your file, which is a different type from a credit card. Ask the lender about interest, fees, and which bureaus it reports to.
Some people use both a secured card and a credit builder loan. That can add a revolving account and an installment account at once. It is not necessary, and it adds a second payment you must never miss.
Becoming an authorized user
An authorized user can use someone else's card account without being legally liable for the debt. The CFPB has found that 9.6% of consumers had their credit records created when they became an authorized user on someone else's account. Under Regulation B, lenders must consider the history of accounts on which an applicant is an authorized user in certain situations, such as when the account holder is a spouse. Not every lender or scoring model treats authorized user accounts the same way.
This route only works if the main cardholder pays on time and keeps balances low. If they miss payments, it can hurt your file too.
Prepaid and debit cards
Prepaid and debit cards are useful tools, but they do not build credit in the normal way. The FTC says most prepaid cards are not reported to credit bureaus, and debit cards do not help you build credit history because you are spending your own money. The CFPB lists both among payments that are not reported to the nationwide credit reporting companies. They are fine for budgeting and everyday spending. Just do not expect them to create a credit score.
Student cards
If you are a college student in the US, you may be able to get an unsecured student card without a deposit. Our guide to credit cards for college students explains the options. If you are declined for a student card, a secured card is a sensible fallback.
A worked example with numbers
This example is hypothetical. The person, amounts, and outcomes are made up to show the mechanics. They are not a promise of any result.
The starting point
Maya is 22 and lives in the US. She has a checking account but no credit cards and no loans. She has $400 in savings she can set aside. Her phone bill is $35 a month.
The card
She picks a secured card with no annual fee that reports to all three bureaus. She deposits $400, so her credit limit is $400. The purchase APR is 28.99% variable, similar to the Capital One secured cards we checked.
The routine
- She moves her $35 phone bill to the card.
- She sets autopay to pay the full statement balance each month.
- Her statement balance is usually $35. That is 35 divided by 400, or about 9% utilization.
- She pays in full every month, so she pays $0 in interest.
What it costs her
| Item | Maya's plan (pays in full) | If she carried $350 all year |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 | $0 |
| Interest | $0 | About $101 (roughly $8.46 a month) |
| Deposit locked up | $400 (refundable) | $400 (refundable) |
| Utilization reported | About 9% | About 88% |
The interest figure is simple arithmetic: $350 times 28.99% divided by 12 is about $8.46 a month, or about $101 over 12 months. Real interest depends on daily balances, the issuer's method, and rate changes, so treat it as a rough guide.
The difference is clear. The same card is almost free for Maya if she pays in full. It costs around $100 a year and shows high utilization if she carries most of the limit.
The timeline
- Month 1: the account opens. It may take a cycle or two to appear on her reports.
- Month 6: her account has been open six months and reported recently. Under myFICO's minimum criteria, she may now be able to get a FICO Score.
- Months 7 to 12: she keeps the same routine. Depending on the issuer, she might be reviewed for a credit line increase or graduation. If she graduates, her $400 deposit comes back.
- After 12 months: she has a year of on-time payments, low utilization, and one account that keeps aging. She uses pre-qualification tools before applying for anything else.
The fee-harvester comparison
Now imagine Maya had picked a different card with a $300 limit and heavy fees. Under Regulation Z, required fees in the first year are capped at 25% of the opening credit limit, which is $75 on a $300 limit. That could leave her with as little as $225 of usable credit in the first year. Any application fee charged before opening would not count toward that cap, according to the CFPB. Late fees would not count either. The no-fee card gives her the same credit-building benefit for $0.
When a secured card does not make sense
A secured card is a good tool for many people, but not for everyone. It may not be the right move if:
- You can qualify for an unsecured card. If you already have fair or better credit, a normal no-fee card or a student card may be a better fit. There is no reason to lock up cash if you do not need to.
- The deposit would leave you short. If putting down $200 would mean missing rent or a bill, wait. A missed bill elsewhere can hurt your credit more than a secured card can help it.
- You tend to carry balances. If you know you will not pay in full, the high APR will cost you. A credit builder loan with fixed payments may suit you better.
- You are in serious debt trouble. If you are already behind on other bills, focus on those first. Free non-profit credit counseling can help. In the UK, MoneyHelper lists free debt advice services.
- You are about to apply for a mortgage. A new account and a hard inquiry right before a major loan application can cause a small dip. Talk to your lender first. Our guide on improving your credit score before applying for a loan explains the timing.
- The only card you can get has big fees. A card with heavy fees and no graduation path may cost more than it is worth. Look again at credit unions, a credit builder loan, or becoming an authorized user.
- You live where secured cards are rare. In Australia, for example, we did not find a mainstream secured card. Other routes, such as a low-limit card managed well, are more common.
FAQ
How do secured credit cards work?
You pay a refundable deposit, and the issuer gives you a credit line, usually equal to or close to the deposit. You use the card and pay the monthly bill. The issuer reports your account to the credit bureaus, so on-time payments build a credit history. The deposit is only used if you default or close the account with a balance.
Do secured cards really build credit?
Yes, if the issuer reports to the credit bureaus and you pay on time. The FTC notes that many secured card issuers report how you use the card to the credit reporting agencies. Check the issuer's page. Most major US issuers we checked say they report to all three bureaus.
How much deposit do I need?
It depends on the card. Among the US cards we checked, minimums ranged from $49 (for some Discover and Capital One applicants) to $300 (U.S. Bank). Maximums ranged from $1,000 (Capital One Platinum Secured) to $5,000 (Bank of America and U.S. Bank). Chime's card has no minimum deposit but works differently.
When do I get my deposit back?
You get it back when the issuer graduates you to an unsecured card, or when you close the account with a zero balance. Timelines vary. Citi reviews from 9 months. Capital One says you could be considered for a higher line in as little as six months. Bank of America reviews periodically and says not all customers qualify.
Does applying for a secured card hurt my credit?
Many issuers run a hard credit check, which can cause a small, short-term dip. Some, such as OpenSky, say they do not run a credit check at application. One application is a minor factor. Many applications in a short time can add up.
Can I build credit with no credit history at all?
Yes. A secured card is one of the main tools for this. myFICO says you need at least one account open for six months and reported in the past six months to get a FICO Score. So expect around six months before you have a score, then keep building from there.
What is the best credit builder card in the UK?
There is no single best card. Most UK credit builder cards are unsecured, with low limits and representative APRs we saw between 34.9% and 39.9% variable. Use each issuer's soft-search eligibility checker, choose one card, and pay the full balance every month so the APR does not matter.
Is a prepaid card the same as a secured card?
No. A prepaid card lets you spend money you load onto it. There is no loan, and the FTC says most prepaid cards are not reported to credit bureaus. A secured card is a real credit account that can be reported, which is why it can build credit.
Should I close my secured card after I graduate or get a new card?
If it has no annual fee, keeping it open is often sensible. It keeps adding to your length of history and your total available credit. If it has a fee and no graduation path, closing it after you have another card may make sense. Pay it to zero first and confirm how the deposit will be returned.
Can I earn rewards on a secured card?
Some secured cards offer rewards. Capital One Quicksilver Secured lists 1.5% cash back on every purchase. Discover it Secured and U.S. Bank Cash+ Secured offer category-based cash back. Rewards are small on low limits, so treat them as a bonus. Once you graduate, you can look at cashback credit cards for everyday shopping.
Bottom line
A secured credit card is a simple, proven way to start or rebuild credit. The deposit gets you approved. Your behavior builds the score.
Pick a card with no annual fee that reports to all three US bureaus and has a clear graduation policy. Several major banks, including Capital One, Discover, Citi, Bank of America, and U.S. Bank, offer secured cards with $0 annual fees. Put one small, regular bill on the card, keep the statement balance low, and pay the full amount by autopay every month. Check your free credit reports every few months.
In the UK, expect an unsecured credit builder card rather than a deposit card, with a high APR that you should never pay. In Canada, secured cards are common, but watch for set-up fees. In Australia, focus on managing ordinary accounts well.
Give it about a year. With on-time payments and low utilization, most people can move on to a regular card and get their deposit back.
This article is for general information only and is not personalized financial advice. Card terms change; check the issuer's current pricing before you apply.
Sources
All sources accessed September 29, 2026.
- Discover: Discover it Secured Credit Card
- Capital One: Platinum Secured Credit Card
- Capital One: Quicksilver Secured Cash Rewards Credit Card
- Citi: Citi Secured Mastercard
- Bank of America: BankAmericard Secured Credit Card
- U.S. Bank: Secured Visa Card
- U.S. Bank: Cash+ Secured Visa Card
- Chime: Chime Card (secured Chime Visa credit card)
- OpenSky: Secured credit cards
- Aqua: Credit card
- Capital One UK: Classic Credit Card
- Capital One UK: Credit builder cards
- Vanquis: Credit cards
- CFPB: What are some ways to start or rebuild a good credit history?
- CFPB: Building credit from scratch (checklist)
- CFPB: Data Point, Becoming Credit Visible
- CFPB: Regulation Z, section 1026.52 (limitations on fees)
- CFPB: CARD Act report on penalty fees and fee harvester cards
- CFPB: Complaint, CFPB v. Reliant Holdings (2024)
- FTC: Comparing credit, charge, secured credit, debit, or prepaid cards
- FTC: Free credit reports
- myFICO: What's in my FICO Scores?
- myFICO: Minimum requirements for a FICO Score
- Experian: What is a good credit score?
- Experian UK: How to improve your credit score
- FCA: New credit card rules introduced (persistent debt)
- MoneyHelper: How to improve your credit score
- FCAC: Choosing a credit card (secured credit cards)
- ASIC Moneysmart: Credit scores and credit reports